Catholic Education South Australia
15 Mar 2024
Share This Page

Catholic students recognised as informed citizens in the 2023 Governor’s Civics Awards for Schools

Five Catholic school students and a group of primary school children from Xavier College have been recognised as informed citizens in the 2023 Governor’s Civics Awards for Schools.

Congratulations to:

  • Agamjot Kaur, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart (Year 7)
  • Olivia Possingham, St Mark's College, Port Pirie (Year 9)
  • Daragh Hayde, Cabra Dominican College (Year 10)
  • Prantia Shrestha, Cabra Dominican College (Year 10)
  • Sahibjot Kaur, Our Lady of The Sacred Heart College (SACE Category)
  • Xavier College (Group Category, Primary)

The awards were presented by Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC at a Government House ceremony on February 20, 2024.

Established in 2019, the Governor’s Civics Awards for Schools program is a cross-sector initiative to develop student awareness and skills as active and informed citizens in a multicultural and democratic society. The initiative involves an annual competition conducted by the Department for Education and guided by the Governor’s Civics Awards for Schools Reference Group.

Presented in individual, group and school categories, the awards align to essential elements of the Australian Curriculum including humanities and social sciences, English literacy, history, sustainability and civics and citizenship.

With applications open to all South Australian students from Years 5-12, the awards encourage participants to engage as active citizens in the democracy in which they live and to explore and bring attention to current societal challenges and make recommendations for change.


Next News Story

News regional scholarships.jpg
22 Feb 2024

Catholic Education South Australia (CESA) is pleased to announce the recipients of its first Regional Teacher Scholarship Program.  

Initiated by the Diocese of Port Pirie, the program will provide 14 recipients with a total benefit of up to $20,000 each, paid as $5,000 for each full-time (or pro rata part-time equivalent) year successfully completed in an undergraduate teaching degree.   

Read More