Catholic Education South Australia
Cardijn_Citizenship Banner.jpg
16 Nov 2022
Share This Page

Catholic school student takes out top 2022 SA Citizenship Award

Callum Barrott-Walsh, a Year 12 student from Cardijn College, Noarlunga Downs has been named as the joint 2022 Student Citizen of the Year for his contribution to citizenship in South Australia.

Unable to be separated by the selection panel, Callum was named as co-recipient of the award alongside Jordan Norman from Urrbrae Agricultural High School.

The top 10 students in the state were recognised at the Order of Australia Association SA Branch Student Citizenship Awards held at Government House on November 14.

The students were presented to the Governor of South Australia, Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, as the Patron of the Association.

Among the recipents was Imogen Brown, also in Year 12 at Cardijn College.

Each year, the SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association offers the prestigious Student Citizenship Awards to Year 11 and 12 students to recognise young people who contribute broadly through voluntary service to school and/or the general community.

Students are nominated by their schools and selected from submissions assessed against four criteria – leadership, contributions to the school and/or community and contributions to the environment and/or community development, as well as pride in Australian citizenship.

The award winners exemplify the Association’s objective “to foster love of and pride in Australian citizenship”.

Both 2022 Student Citizen of the Year recipients have made impressive contributions to their respective schools and communities.

Callum is said to be an excellent leader at Cardijn College, with many significant achievements which have positively benefited the College and wider community. These include participating in the UN Youth (Australia) State Conference, addressing issues such as climate change, refugees and homelessness.

Callum has volunteered for and assisted with fundraising events and activities supporting Fred’s Van soup kitchen, St. Vincent De Paul Christmas hamper appeal and the Hutt St Walk a Mile. He has also been awarded the Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize Competition and the Muriel Matters Award, recognising self-initiative and valued citizenship qualities.

The top 10 students received an inscribed plaque and certificate signed by the Governor.

Congratulations to Callum and Imogen on your Order of Australia Student Citizenship Award as a recognition of your dedication and hard work.

Photography: Paul Rosenzweig, SA Branch, Order of Australia Association.

Next News Story

Mercedes International_Banner.jpg
10 Nov 2022

Mercedes College, Springfield has been named the winner of the StudyTravel Secondary Schools Award – Australia and New Zealand for its International Student Programme, for the second year running.

The StudyTravel Star Awards are an initiative of UK based ‘StudyTravel’ magazine, which is read by over 22,000 Education Agents in almost 130 countries.

Read More